Pro-Choice or Pro-Life: My personal conflict

This topic has been on my mind a lot lately.

I have always been a very openly Pro-Choice conservative. I have never considered myself “Pro-Abortion”, however. Most recently though, I have been conflicted on my views on this topic. At this point in my life I would never personally opt for an abortion. Although I can’t really say “never”. I think that once you are actually in that situation, then you would be able to say yes or no.

A close friend of mine recently shared with me his own story. He is, and from what I understand, always has been Pro-Life. While his mother was pregnant with him, her doctors preformed the amniotic tests, which are typically performed. The test came back stating that her child would have down syndrome. I do not know if she was offered the option to abort the pregnancy, but  she did not go that route and she had a healthy baby boy who is very intelligent and a productive member of society today. He went to college, got a Doctorate, and has a great career.

 Since hearing his story, I began questioning my beliefs. Then I began to think back and I remembered that a girl that I went to highschool with had a similar situation. Her doctor did offer the option to abort. She walked right out of that doctor’s office and she has a healthy baby boy who is now thee years old. It is obvious that these tests aren’t exactly something to base a very serious decision on. A decision that you cannot take back.

It’s no wonder im so conflicted these days. I always said that if I was told that my child would be born with a birth defect, I would abort. My oldest brother, who we believe is mildly autistic, has not had an easy life. I would not want to put my child through all that. But than I think, who am I to decide? I should not be trying to play God. Everything happens for a reason, we may not always know the reason, but there is always a reason.

I do still partially believe that a mother should have that choice. But only under certain circumstances, such as severe birth defects or endangerment to the mother. I did have rape or incest in that list of exceptions but those aren’t as typical as they once were thanks to “Plan B”. I suppose the only reason for abortion should be medical reasons. Even than its iffy.

No matter what the outcome on abortion, I do think that it should not be accessible like it is now. You should NOT be able to go to your local Planned Parenthood and get one whenever you want, however often as you want. Abortion is NOT a form of birth control, even though some seem to think that it is. I know that Marilyn Monroe had at least a dozen abortions in her lifetime, but that doesn’t make it right. I’m sure she had her reasons for getting that many. She was a movie star and im sure that she was pressured into it by the studio she was working for at the time. In those days an actresses career was pretty much over if they became pregnant. But that was then, this is now.

In my opinion, if you are old enough to engage in sexual acts, you are old enough to accept the outcome of those acts. Whether it be an unplanned pregnancy, or an STD, but we will talk about that at a different time. If you are not able to support a child, there are other options, such as adoption. If you aren’t already pregnant, abstaining from sex is the best way to prevent an unwanted pregnancy.

It just seems so senseless to abort a pregnancy just because you don’t want to deal with it. That has always been my opinion, but now even aborting it based on the amniotic test seems just as senseless.

 

–Tattooed Liberty

20130330-184009.jpg

Leave a Reply

Authors

Tattooed Liberty

"Give me Liberty or give me death"

Otter Limits

Music, comics and other pop culture ramblings.

The Conservative Cauldron

"Give me Liberty or give me death"

The Cross In The Desert

"Give me Liberty or give me death"

Live, from the Catacombs...

"Give me Liberty or give me death"

Bad to the Bohn

Politics, Pharmacy, and Random stuff

