Common Core State Standards

On Monday, April 22nd, I attended my first meeting on Common Core. I had heard the term common core frequently on Facebook and twitter but had yet to find out what it was. So a good friend invited me to the meeting for this past Monday night.

I found it to be very informative and eye opening. I do not have children of my own just yet, but I will at some point in my future I’m sure, and I do not want my future children to be held back due to this common core standards that is being put into place.

In a nut shell; Common Core State Standards (CCSS) is a government set curriculum that will essentially hold back every student about two years. It is being implemented currently k-12, and there is talks of it going to the college level. Well, that might be best. If students are two years behind already, why set them up for failure when they get to college. It was also said that CCSS will also be implemented in homeschooling curriculums. Unbelievable.

This is absolute bull honky. Why is it being required to dumb down our children? I heard so much about how we as a country is behind academically already, this will only make it worse.

I have included some links below, I encourage everyone to take the time to read it. Even if you do not have children currently, in the future (if you choose to), it will affect you.

Missouri Coalition Against Common Core

Missouri Education Watchdog

20130424-013228.jpg

–Tattooed Liberty

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. otterlimits
    Apr 24, 2013 @ 08:24:02

    It goes deeper than you think TL. At the risk of sounding like a tinfoil-hat wearing crazy person, this common core stuff is all another action item in regards to the UN’s Agenda 21. The idea of common core is that education is not meant to give our children knowledge anymore, but to make them productive member’s of the workforce. If they are ready for the workforce when they get out of school, they will be more productive member’s of the new world community.

    Reply

    • tattooedliberty
      Apr 24, 2013 @ 09:12:56

      I had heard that they will have the student choose a profession by the ninth grade. Ninth grade!! I’m 26 and just went back to school in January because I finally decided what I wanted to do. It’s dumbing down our nation and we need to stop it.

      Reply

      • otterlimits
        Apr 24, 2013 @ 09:39:41

        You heard that correctly. It is not about educating our children anymore and giving them the tools to think for themselves. It is about indoctrinating them into the UN-sponsored world-wide community way of life and being prepared to serve that community.

        And don’t feel too bad, I’m 41 and still don’t know what I want to be when I grow up. LoL!

Leave a Reply

Authors

Tattooed Liberty

"Give me Liberty or give me death"

Otter Limits

Music, comics and other pop culture ramblings.

The Conservative Cauldron

"Give me Liberty or give me death"

The Cross In The Desert

"Give me Liberty or give me death"

Live, from the Catacombs...

"Give me Liberty or give me death"

Bad to the Bohn

Politics, Pharmacy, and Random stuff

